Best Album of the 2000s?

“But this tidal wave of tributes threatens to overshadow the 10th anniversary of another towering rock classic, an album that, if not quite as influential as Nevermind, is every bit as dazzling, significant, and stylistically accomplished: the Strokes’ masterly debut Is This It.”

Woo boy there is a lot to hate in this article. I mean, it’s a Strokes album. Think about the 2000s and the great albums that came out in that decade: Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, Kid A AND In Rainbows, Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots and Embryonic, Stankonia and Speakerboxxx/The Love Below, Alive 2007 and Discovery, all 3 LCD Soundsystem albums, Oracular Spectacular… I could go on and on, but have decided that I will not. Bottom line: Is This It is not the best album of the 2000s. I’m not going to put much thought into this, go pure emotions and say that it’s Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots (even though deep down inside I know the answer is Kid A), but my extreme Flaming Lips bias and associated emotional issues are pretty well known. While quasi-researching this post I saw someone who had Welcome Interstate Managers by Fountains of Wayne on top of his list (you know, the one with “Stacy’s Mom”), so I feel OK about my pick.

About richardwahnfried
Not named Richard Wahnfried, not krautrock legend Klaus Schulze.

2 Responses to Best Album of the 2000s?

  1. Krispy Kreme says:

    My favorite part about this post? The Strokes didn’t get tagged.

  2. Is This It is not it.
    I like the album and have for ten years…I defend their other albums…”Under Cover Of Darkness” is one of my favorite singles of the year….but I never quite got why that one album gets so much hype.

    It’s not even among the best of 2001, me thinks….

Leave a Reply

